KS3 Recommended Reading

KS3: Some great books – all available from the TK Library

The Knife of Never Letting Go—Patrick Ness

The first of an amazing science-fiction trilogy. You will be swept up in Todd and Viola’s  whirlwind struggle against  a man who uses his powers to conquer and control.  Unputdownable!

 

Barakamon 1—Satsuki Yoshino          Graphic Novel

A young man from the city uproots to live on a small island in Japan. He has much to learn about rural life. Luckily he finds a good teacher—a boy called Naru. A very popular Manga series.

 

The Recruit—Robert Muchamore

The first of the famous ‘Cherub’ stories. Specially trained teenagers are sent on perilous undercover missions to battle criminals and make the world a safer place! Very exciting!

 

Moonhead and the Music Machine—Andrew Rae          Graphic Novel

A stylish graphic novel about school, music making, being different and friendship.

 

Trash—Andy Mulligan

Raphael, Gardo and Rat live on a rubbish heap and make a living sifting trash. One day they find something valuable which contains a secret. From that moment they are hunted mercilessly. They will need a miracle to save their lives!  Action!

 

Skeleton Creek—Patrick Carman

A seriously scary story with online videos to add to the terror. Think ‘Blair Witch Project’ and you will get the idea!

A multimedia story experience! Visit www.patrickcarman.com/books/skeleton-creek/

 

The Set-Up—Sophie MacKenzie

The first in a fabulous sci-fi series.  Four teenagers with psychic abilities are brought together to become a secret crime-fighting force. A brilliant page turner!

 

I’d Tell You I Love You, But Then I’d Have To Kill You—Ally Carter

Gallagher Academy might claim to be a school for geniuses – but it’s really a school for spies. Cammie Morgan is fluent in fourteen languages and capable of killing a man in seven different ways (three of which involve a piece of uncooked spaghetti). But the one thing the Gallagher Academy hasn’t prepared her for is what to do when she falls for an ordinary boy who thinks she’s an ordinary girl.

 

The Maze Runner—James Dashner

Waking up  in the Glade, and only remembering his first name, Thomas is surrounded by boys. Together they must work out how their strange and sinister world works and who is controlling it. Full of danger, suspense and mystery.

 

Look into My Eyes—Lauren Child

The first Ruby Redfort mystery.

Ruby is a code-cracker and daring detective. She has gadgets to help her on her dangerous missions and a side-kick called Hitch, who poses as the family butler. A thrilling, all-out action adventure!

 

Nobody’s Girl—Sarra Manning

A great summer read for girls. A girlie holiday in Spain turns into a nightmare, forcing  Bea  to go off in search of her mysterious French father. Along the way she meets new friends and heads to Paris: will the city of love  work its magic on her too?

 

Noble Conflict—Malorie Blackman

Kaspar has grown up in peace and harmony but rebels threaten to destroy this and Kaspar joins the Guardians. When he meets the  beautiful  Rhea, one of the rebels, Kaspar starts to realise that he has never been told the truth, either about what the rebels want or about the dark forces at work in his society.

A dystopian thriller for sci-fi fans.

 

Linked—Imogen Howson          Suggested 13+ reading age

With plot twists and turns this book takes you to unexpected places!  Twins rediscover each other in awful circumstances. They must leave everything and go on the run from the agents who hunt them mercilessly. If allowed to escape the girls will unwittingly expose a dark and terrible truth.

 

The Mysterious Benedict Society—Trenton Lee Stewart

Four children, each with different talents, are brought together by the mysterious Mr Benedict in order to find out what is causing “the Emergency”, and who is transmitting the voices that only Mr Benedict can hear on his specially designed equipment. The first of a series. Funny!

 

Gone—Michael Grant

The first of a very popular series. The adults in a Californian town suddenly disappear. The young people who remain must work out how to survive. Some start to develop supernatural powers; gangs spring up and sides are taken. ’Lord of the Flies’ with superpowers!

 

The One Dollar Horse—Lauren St John

Fifteen year old Casey Blue lives in East London’s grimmest tower block and volunteers at a local riding school, .She rescues a starving, half-wild horse, and is convinced that she will be able to gain his trust and compete at the Badminton Horse Trials. Obviously one for horse lovers!

 

Itch—Simon Mayo

Meet Itch – an accidental, accident-prone hero. Science is his weapon. Elements are his gadgets. All-action adventure perfect for fans of Alex Rider and Young Bond.

 

Spy Camp—Stuart Gibbs

Ben Ripley is spending the summer at Spy Camp, the top secret outdoor education facility of Ben’s school, the Academy of Espionage. But any hopes he has for a relaxing break are quickly dashed when SPYDER resurfaces – and this time, the evil organization is targeting Ben himself. Ben soon finds himself on the run in the wilderness ?Can he survive their fiendish plot? A funny book!

 

Rail Head—Philip Reeve

The Great Network is a place of drones and androids, Hive Monks and Station Angels. The place of the thousand gates, where sentient trains criss-cross the galaxy in a heartbeat.
It is also a place of great dangers – especially for someone who rides the rails and rides his luck the way Zen Starling does.
Once Zen was just a petty thief, stealing to support his family and living by his wits. Now everything has changed. Zen is still a thief – but what else is he?

 

Northern Lights—Philip Pullman

Lyra Belacqua and her animal daemon live half-wild and carefree among scholars of Jordan College, Oxford. The destiny that awaits her will take her to the frozen lands of the Arctic, where witch-clans reign and ice-bears fight. Her extraordinary journey will have immeasurable consequences far beyond her own world…  A not to be missed classic.

 

A Boy and a Bear in a Boat—Dave Shelton

A boy and a bear go to sea, equipped with a suitcase, a comic book and a ukulele. They are only travelling a short distance and it really shouldn’t take long. But their journey doesn’t quite go to plan . . .A gently humorous  yet small scale epic adventure.

 

The Graveyard Book—Neil Gaiman          Graphic Novel

Nobody Owens, known as Bod, is a normal boy. He would be completely normal if he didn’t live in a graveyard, being raised by ghosts, with a guardian who belongs to neither the world of the living nor the dead. There are dangers and adventures for Bod in the graveyard. But it’s in the land of the living that the real danger lurks, for it is there that the man Jack lives, and he has already killed Bod’s family.

 

The Letter for the King—Tonke Dragt

During his vigil before he is knighted , Tiuri is persuaded by a mysterious old servant to carry a vital message to the Black Knight with the White Shield. The Knight is murdered by the treacherous Red Riders. It falls to Tiuri to carry the message over the Great Mountains to the King. The story recounts the setbacks and triumphs he encounters on his quest. Fabulous!

 

Fly By Night—Frances Hardinge

A breath-taking fantasy adventure . Mosca’s realm struggles to maintain an uneasy peace after years of civil war and tyranny. The a twelve-year-old orphan and her loyal companion, a grumpy goose, are about to become the unlikely heroes of a radical revolution. Mosca Mye is on the run and heading for the city of Mandelion.

 

Soldier Dog—Sam Angus

Angry with his father, Stanley runs away to train as a messenger dog handler, and he’s soon heading to France with a great Dane called Bones by his side. As Stanley experiences the horrors of the first world war, he comes to realise that the loyalty of his dog is the one thing he can rely on.

 

The Wall—William Sutcliffe

Joshua lives with his mother and stepfather in a divided city, where a wall and soldiers separate two communities, and the rubble-strewn residue of their broken world gives hints of the old life before the wall was built. Joshua discovers a manhole, which leads in pitch darkness under the wall and across to the other side. Forbidden territory, dangerous territory, violent territory, which a boy like him – visibly different – shouldn’t stray into.

 

Wonder—R J Palacio

Auggie has a severe facial deformity and has always been home-schooled . Now it is time to join the other kids at school and he is dreading it. He just wants to be accepted and to fit in. He must convince his classmates that, underneath it all, he is just like them. A tale of courage.

 

The Lady in the Tower—Marie-Louise Jensen

Eleanor’s mother has been falsely accused of terrible crimes by her father and imprisoned in a tower at their home. Eleanor must outwit her estranged father and foil his plans to murder her mother.  A marriage is arranged for her, but that would mean leaving her mother without help. Set in Tudor England  this book is full of history, intrigue and romance.

 

The Hit—Alex Zadoff

The explosive new thriller for fans of Jason Bourne, Robert Muchamore and Michael Grant, . Boy Nobody is the perennial new kid in school, the one few notice and nobody thinks much about. He shows up in a new high school, in a new town, under a new name, makes few friends and doesn’t stay long. Just long enough for someone in his new friend’s family to die — of “natural causes.” Mission accomplished, Boy Nobody disappears, and moves on .

 

Halo—Zizou Corder

Set in Ancient Greece. Halo is brought up by centaurs and doesn’t know her true identity. Disguised as a boy she battles her way to find out who she really is. Wonderful adventure with  a courageous young heroine .